A woman boss in love with her junior!

Is my headline misleading? Take a look at the latest Airtel advert if you haven’t already…

This is my take on the hullabaloo over the advert… A wife who is her husband’s boss at work orders him to finish an assigned task no matter how long it takes. Meanwhile, she returns home to cook an elaborate meal for him and woos him with the spread. Tweeps are calling the advert ‘sexist’; ‘retrograde’; ‘feminist’ ; ‘kiddish’; ‘rubbish’; ‘mysogynism at its best’…and comments such as ‘how can a DINK couple not afford a maid?’; ‘why should only woman do the cooking?’…

Hold it people! Imagine the opposite role play in the advert? The ad agency would not have been spared. Women empowerment groups would have taken to the streets.

Of course, there are people who counter the attackers calling the advert ‘progressive’. I would call it pragmatism. Those who get home first, cooks. Period. And the belief that a ‘double-income-no-kid couple’ should hire a maid is elitism, at the least.

I would also call it love. She chose to cook for the husband. What’s the issue in it? Which law states a working woman or a woman boss cannot cook? We as a lot love ideas, theories and noise – in that order. Practicality juggles its breath amid these.

The so-called new generation ideals and feminist make-over is eroding natural affection in a relationship, with the capital ‘N’. Today, it’s considered medieval if you say you wait dinner for your husband. That’s what our grandma’s did. However, it’s hip to say, dinner is our time together.

Today, a woman is considered conservative if she dresses to her husband’s likes. However, its hip to flaunt the dresses he gifts her.

Today, it’s aunty-like to say my husband buys my clothes. However, its hip to say my man takes me shopping.

Today, a woman is considered to have ‘no voice’ in her marriage if her husband ‘handles’ the home finances. However, its hip to say I let my man do the accounts.

Today, it’s considered hip to talk of women’s issues. Men and women, old and young alike need to voice their opinion. Alas! with so many ideologies afloat about what defines an empowered woman, the new generation fails to see the beauty in a marriage. They let the natural affection that blossoms in a relationship be masqueraded as classified love, which is defined and approved by the majority voice.

It’s this lot that see a woman boss and a husband in this advert rather than a wife and her man!

 

You may want to read an incident with my boss… READ: How my boss taught me with a cigarette stick

2 responses

  1. Hi Nisha! Great to have discovered you! (women writers group) and even better to find that you think the way I do! 🙂 In all this talk about feminism, simple love seems to have got lost. And I knew quite a few like that, who think that cooking for your man can be a choice – because – you love him! Its NOT a job you are forced to do. Yes – there are plenty of men and marriages, where that job can be forced upon you and the man might be a pig. But ordinarily, we do what we do out of love. So what’s the big deal! I’ve always waited for husband and son for dinner time – and – I am considered odd by my supposedly more ‘strong’ friends! They forget, that relationship is not a battleground of power but quiet place to express love, howsoever one wishes to! 🙂
    And I guess I’ve rambled ;). Do drop by my blog! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hey Anjali, thanks for expressing your thoughts. No. Not ramblings. Much appreciated. And pls keep them coming.
      BTW, I love your peoms.
      rgds/ns

      Like

Leave a Reply

