Hide n seek

Where have you been? I heaved into the phone

When she finally answered my 8th call that day

Don’t ask. Crazy day…did you call?

Yea, You don’t reply to Wattsapp or FB msgs, what’s wrong

Bad cramps, hands are numb holding hot water bag

Oh, sorry. I was about to come and check on you in fact…

Thank God you didn’t, she cut me short…

I’m fine now. Will talk to you later, I’m getting a call

Take care, I shouted into the receiver as I heard it click

And walked into the kitchen, when I saw creamy, cold yoghurt

Mixed in some cooked rice, stepped out of PJs and grabbed car keys

I stood ringing the door bell, humming a tune, ready to surprise her

Two minutes later, her neighbour steps out and informs me

She’s not here. It’s been three days since I saw her

Worried, ringing her up, I walked the stairs, when

Security asked, ‘Your friend’s marriage over, madam”

I threw him a dirty glance, before walking with phone to my ear

Hello, where are you, I scream anxiously

Lying down my dear…I heard her sigh

Open the door, I’ve brought some curd rice for you

Oh..A..h..n.o..I’m fine…what…a…ah…

One second, I said, and ran to the exit

Open the door darling, I’m here.

Hello…hellooo…you are breaking…

And the line went dead!

hide

Pic Courtesy: MorgueFile

 

***************************

My theme for A-Z Challenge 2015 is ‘Free Verse’

#AtoZChallenge @AprilA2Z

badge

More here: Thoughts Uncensored… Your’s Truly!

 

3 responses

  1. oh what is she hiding! I love this style of writing. Crisp and meaningful.

    Like

  2. Wow! There are some puzzles there..interesting!

    Like

  3. Yea Parul… indeed some puzzles. Thank u Rajlakshmi

    Like

Leave a Reply

