Victory stand

I walked into my daughter’s room

Pride spilling over every step

And breath I took

To announce my treasure find

An old picture, my friends sent me

A once-upon-a-time memory

25 years ago to be precise

I stared at my younger self

Smiling at me from atop the

Victory stand on sports day

What are you doing on that, mama!

Squealed my girl, stifling laughter

What’s so funny, can’t you see your mom…

That’s exactly what I’m asking, mama

Who put you up there!

I haven’t seen you as much as walk fast

And you ran

As in RAN

Really!!!!!!!

Who lifted you up there!

Omy! My mama used to run!

Papa! Did you see this…she dashed out

Can you even imagine this!!!!

sports

 

***************************

My theme for A-Z Challenge 2015 is ‘Free Verse’

#AtoZChallenge @AprilA2Z

badge

More here: Thoughts Uncensored… Your’s Truly!

7 responses

  1. that reminds me of my mom somehow. All the talent that she had during school surprises me too. Because as a Mom I had never seen her doing that.

    Like

  2. Cute! Love your girl’s response: so innocent! 😉 And what a high podium they put you on! 😉 ❤

    Like

  3. We can’t imagine our parents having talents because we haven’t seen them doing it. Very sweet post. And the little girl’s reaction is so realistic.

    Like

  4. Suzy, Elly, Rajalakshmi… you’ll touched my heart. Thank you

    Like

  5. what a sweet post! Nisha, try it again..it’s never too late to give it a shot again 🙂

    Like

  6. This is so cute.. our children never imagine us as kids, isnt it? Loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

